One of the provisions of the U.S. National Quantum Initiative Act, approved in December 2018, was to appoint an advisory committee composed of members from industry, universities, Federal laboratories, and other Federal Government agencies to provide guidance to the government regarding the National Quantum Initiative (NQI).  It will include assessments of trends and developments in quantum information science and technology (QIST), implementation and management of the NQI, whether NQI activities are helping to maintain United States leadership in QIST, whether program revisions are necessary, what opportunities exist for international collaboration and open standards, and whether national security and economic considerations are adequately addressed by the NQI.

The committee will be co-chaired by Dr. Charles Tahan, OSTP Assistant Director for Quantum Information Science and Director of the National Quantum Coordination Office, and Dr. Kathryn Ann Moler, Dean of Research at Stanford University.

Members of the Committee include:

Professor Timothy A. Akers
Assistant Vice President for Research Innovation and Advocacy, Morgan State University

Professor Frederic T. Chong
Seymour Goodman Professor, University of Chicago

Dr. James S. Clarke
Director, Quantum Hardware, Intel Corporation

Professor Kai-Mei C. Fu
Associate Professor of Physics and Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Washington

Dr. Marissa Giustina
Senior Research Scientist, Google, LLC

Mr. Gilbert V. Herrera
Laboratory Fellow, Sandia National Laboratories

Professor Evelyn L. Hu
Tarr-Coyne Professor of Electrical Engineering and Applied Science, Harvard University

Professor Jungsang Kim
Co-Founder, IonQ and Professor of ECE, Physics and Computer Science , Duke University

Dr. Joseph (Joe) Lykken
Deputy Director for Research, Fermi National Accelerator Lab

Mr. Luke Mauritsen
Founder/CEO, Montana Instruments

Professor Christopher R. Monroe
University of Maryland

Professor William D. Oliver
Associate Professor EECE, Professor of Practice Physics, and MIT-Lincoln Laboratory Fellow, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and MIT-Lincoln Laboratory

Mr. Stephen S. Pawlowski
Vice President of Advanced Computing Solutions, Micron

Professor John P. Preskill
Director of the Institute for Quantum and Matter, California Institute of Technology

Dr. Kristen L. Pudenz
Lead for Quantum Information Science, Lockheed Martin

Dr. Chad T. Rigetti
Founder and CEO, Rigetti Computing

Dr. Mark B. Ritter
Chair, Physical Sciences Council, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Professor Robert J. Schoelkopf
Sterling Professor of Applied Physics and Physics, Yale University

Dr. Krysta M. Svore
General Manager of Quantum Systems, Microsoft Research

Professor Jinliu Wang
Senior Vice Chancellor for Research and Economic Development, The State University of New York

Dr. Jun Ye
JILA Fellow, Adjoint Professor of Physics, National Institute of Standards and Technology

For additional information, you can view the OSTP announcement on the U.S. Department of Energy’s web site here and also view the full text of the U.S. National Quantum Initiative Act which spells out duties of the advisory committee here.

August 28, 2020