The funding will be provided by the Department of Energy (DOE) to the five U.S. Nanoscale Science Research Centers (NSRCs) for development of advanced capabilities for synthesizing, constructing, and understanding quantum structures and phenomena, as well as making these capabilities available to the greater scientific community. The awards will include funding of between $1 and $3 million per project over a period of up to three years. These awards are only available to the NSRCs with each one allowed to make up to three proposals. The submission deadline for pre-proposals of April 6, 2021 and a submission deadline for the proposals of June 1, 2021. The five NSRCs eligible to submit proposals are:

  • Center for Functional Nanomaterials at Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, New York
  • Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies, jointly managed by Sandia National Laboratories and Los Alamos Laboratory, with locations in Albuquerque and Los Alamos, New Mexico
  • Center for Nanophase Materials Sciences at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee
  • Center for Nanoscale Materials at Argonne National Laboratory, Lemont, Illinois
  • Molecular Foundry at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, California

Additional information about this funding announcement can be in a news release on the DOE website here and DOE’s Basic Energy Sciences (BES) funding opportunities announcement here.

March 10, 2021