The OpenSuperQPlus program is a successor to the previous OpenSuperQ program that will be coordinated by Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH and involve 28 partners from 10 different countries. It has a first stage goal of developing a 100 qubit system within 3.5 years and a second stage goal of developing a 1000 qubit system within seven years. The funding will come from the European Union’s Horizon Europe framework program. A press release announcing the program can be seen on the Forschungszentrum Jülich website here and a list of all the partners in the program are shown below.

List of OpenSuperQPlus Program Partners


  • Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH
  • Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften
    o Walther-Meissner-Institute
    o Leibniz Supercomputing Centre
  • Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der angewandten Forschung e. V.
  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
  • Qruise GmbH
  • Rohde & Schwarz GmbH & Co. KG
  • supracon AG
  • Zurich Instruments Germany
  • EURICE – European Research and Project Office GmbH


  • Aalto University
  • BlueFors Cryogenics Oy
  • CSC – IT Center for Science Ltd.
  • IQM Finland Oy
  • Teknologian Tutkimuskeskus VTT Oy


  • Netherlands Organisation for Applied Scientific Research
  • Orange Quantum Systems
  • QuantWare B.V.
  • Technische Universiteit Delft


  • Alice & Bob
  • Centre National De La Recherche Scientifique
  • Commissariat à l’Energie Atomique et aux Energies Alternatives


  • Budapest University of Technology and Economics
  • Wigner Research Centre for Physics


  • Institute of Science and Technology Austria


  • Chalmers Tekniska Högskola AB


  • Tartu Ülikool


  • Universidad del País Vasco / Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea


  • The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

March 25, 2023